Welcome to Reach
This article covers the basics of Reach and gives a general overview of the application to help you start using it the right way.
Ready? Let’s get started!
What is Reach?
Reach is a modern, digital workspace that will help you be more productive in your day-to-day work life.
Some of the major benefits of using Reach include:
- Direct 1:1 and group messaging with your colleagues
- Groups for topic-based, group-based, or meeting-based chat
- Streamlined collaboration on projects
- Reduced email clutter
- Searching across messages and Groups
- Sharing files
To understand how Reach works, below is a list of the main features of Reach with instructions on how to use them:
A team is a digital workspace where you and your teammates can collaborate in Reach. Depending on how Reach is set up in your organization, you can belong to one team or multiple teams.
Groups are used to organize conversations across different topics. They are located on the left-hand panel of Reach.
There are three types of Groups: Public groups, Private groups, and Direct Messages.
Public groups are open to everyone on a team. New team members are automatically added to the General Public group.
Private groups are only visible to selected team members. Any member of a Private group can add additional members. Group members can choose to leave at any time, but only the group owner or Team Admin can remove other members.
By default, any new team member is automatically added to his/her private team groupl. For ex: If Neha from Sales Team joins Reach then she gets automatically added to the Sales Team Group.
How to distinguish between private and public group
Private groups have a lock icon.
Direct Messages (DM) and Group Messages (GM)
Direct Messages are for conversations between two people. Group Messages are Direct Messages that have conversations among three or more people. Both are visible only to the people involved.
Sending messages and replying to messages are important ways to keep conversations active with your team. You can edit and delete messages after you have sent them. You can also share links to any message in Reach.
Notifications in Reach alert you to unread messages and mentions.
So, let’s proceed and check out the functionalities and settings under your ‘Mentioning Teammates’